The date

The date

It’s been a long time coming.. My ultimate dream now has a date. I received a letter today stating the starting date for my pilot training. It will start on February 4th 2013. Today marks the starting of my blog.

I am about to start a 2.5-year training to become an airline transport pilot. I start my flight training at the Finnish Aviation Academy in February 2013. I will complete my PPL(A) (Private Pilot’s License) at EFHF (Helsinki-Malmi Airport) after which my training continues at EFPO (Pori Airport). I will complete the NF(A) (Night Flight rating) in the fall and then continue with with IR(A) (Instrument Rating), CPL(A) (Commercial Pilot License), ATPL(A) (Airline Transport Pilot License) theory, Upset Recovery Training, ME (Multi-Engine rating) and finally MCC(Multi Crew Co-operation) training.

I have enjoyed reading many flight training blogs over the years. And as well as sharing my experiences with family and friends, I wanted to share them with other future pilots as a kind of payback. Flying has been a dream of mine for over 15 years. I hope everybody gets to fulfill their own, sooner or later. And I hope you enjoy this blog.

During the 2-month countdown to the school start I plan to write about the application process and the aircraft I will be flying during my training, at least. Keep coming back!

10 responses to “The date

  1. Wow, what an accomplishment. Good for you. Like you I spent several years banging on the door of the US Air Force. They finally let me in. I am very proud to know that there are people like you who have passion and dreams. And more importantly you will not let anyone tell you no. That is awesome.

    When I started flight school, it was hard, intense and pressure filled. There were ups and downs. Successes and failures. And there were several classmates that quit when it got tough. I was always glad they quit because they took their negative attitudes with them. Keep your eye on the final goal of earning your wings, but remember to focus on the next event. Nothing else matters but the next event. It might be a test, quiz, flight, simulator, check ride or just a day in the classroom. Win that event before worrying about what comes next.

    I did that and before long, my instructor shook my hand and told me I have completed training. Sitting in the jet, he called me an Air Force Pilot. A couple weeks later, I pinned my wings on. What a feeling and I know you will have success as well.

    If you ever have any questions, please ask.

    Give Em Hell,
    rob

    • Hi Rob, thanks for stopping by and a special thank you for your heartwarming words. I believe I only have this one life and I want to make the most of it. This is mind, nothing can stop me. I read your story and I can tell you are not afraid to give your all either. Will is a strong power. Thank you for your advice Rob, I will cherish it!

Leave a Reply

