The new year

The new year

A year ago today I said to myself: “This is the year that I will get into the Finnish Aviation Academy.” Today I said to myself: “This is the year I start my flight training.”

A beginning of a new year is a good time to think about your dreams, your life, where you are and where you want to be. For me a beginning of a new year has always been a time when it is easier to leave behind the things I do not want in my life anymore. It is a crossroads where I can change direction. This year though, I feel like I am finally where I need to be.

A while ago I remembered something that happened to me a long time ago. In 1998 I had a summer job working in a call center for a travel agency. One time a lady called from the Finnish Pilots’ Association (FPA). After dealing with the business, the conversation shifted into a discussion about becoming a pilot. I mentioned my dream to her and that I was not eligible to apply at the time. I was too short and no allergies were accepted. She then told me that her husband is a Finnair pilot and that he also had to wait for years to be able to apply. I think his impediment was that he wore eyeglasses before they were accepted. She then said to me that maybe you can apply someday, just wait.

Well, I waited. For a long time. But this is The year. I only have to wait for 34 more days and the lifelong wait is over. I wish everyone a very happy and healthy year of 2013. May your dreams come true!

2 responses to “The new year

  1. That is a great story. I am proud of you and your desire to follow your heart. It isnt easy, but it is so worth it. Keep your passion and enjoy every day.

    One day we are all going to die, we cant control that. We can only control what we do with the time we have been given. You are off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

