Plane hangars, taxi and first aid

The first contact with the aircraft has been made this week. We visited the plane hangars, did a taxi exercise and ended the week with a 2-day first aid course.

We started the week with a few more lessons on the school procedures. We also visited the aircraft hangars and got to finally see all four aircraft types the school presently has – Cessna 152, Beechcraft Bonanza, Extra 300L and Embraer Phenom 100. Bonanza seems to have made an impression on all of us. And of course the Phenom, that goes without saying. It’s a beautiful thing.

Me posing with the Bonanza.

Me posing with the Bonanza.

The Phenom 100.

The Phenom 100.

The red carpet.

The red carpet.

As part of the unification training, we did a taxi exercise in a C152. The objective was to go through the checklists, which differ a little from what we have used during our PPL training, and start the engine, taxi and shut down the engine according to the lists. Of course for those of us who haven’t yet flown a Cessna, it was a great way to familiarize oneself with the aircraft. I have to admit it felt a little frustrating to use the new checklist, because it totally messed up my flow I’ve gotten used to. But I’m sure I’ll get my flow back in a couple of weeks with the new lists and I don’t have to ponder about the next item on the list anymore. Anyways, it was nice to sit in a moving plane again!

Cessnas ready to taxi.

Cessnas ready to taxi.

The end of the week was dedicated to first aid. We completed the basics of first aid (EA1 in Finland) with a 2-day course. We learned how to give first aid to an unconscious person, in case of foreign object in the respiratory tract, to a person in shock and of course to perform cardiopulmonary resuscitation also known as CPR. We also learned to dress a wound, wrap a sprained ankle and to tie a sling to support an injured arm. We learned about recognizing the most common sudden attacks of serious illnesses like low blood sugar on a diabetic, heart attack and stroke. We also learned to use an automatic defibrillator. It’s a great machine. It is basically fool-proof and anyone should be able to use it. They are starting to grow in numbers in public places and it was really good to have a chance to try it should I ever have to use it in real life. I’m really glad we had this course. I learned a lot and I feel that I could actually help someone with the skills I learned, possibly even save a life.

He doesn't look too good.

He doesn’t look too good.

Jusa giving CPR.

Jusa giving CPR.

He seems to be smiling. I think we saved him.

He seems to be smiling. I think we saved him.

2 responses to “Plane hangars, taxi and first aid

  1. Bonanza is funny name for airplane.
    I watch the tv about fourty years ago and I remember Lorne Greene and Bonanza. Anybody remember Little Joe?

Leave a Reply

